Thursday, 23rd November 2017
City of Headland, Alabama
City of Headland, Alabama

Headland Honors Dexter Hammond

Dexter Hammond is a hero. He was 38 years old when he paid the ultimate price on Friday, April 24, 2009. The 16-year veteran ex-police chief, husband, father, son and friend was laid to rest on April 28, 2009. The event was witnessed by a crowd of over 1,000 people including about 400 police officers.

Officer Hammond was born in Troy. He was a 16-year veteran police officer and owned and operated Hammond’s Tae Kwon Do in Eufaula for 10 years. He is survived by his wife, Chrissy, and a son, Cody. His parents are Stan Hammond and Scarlet Driggers Hammond of Dothan.

Hammond was a former Baker Hill and Eufaula policeman who joined the Headland force in December. By all accounts, he was a top officer who loved his family and his Harley.

“He was fun-loving,” said Headland investigator Scott Langley.”He was one of those officers who would help in any kind of way.”

Headland Police Chaplain Andy Bryan says Hammond was one of the best.

“He was one of the greatest officers we ever had. He was very considerate and he loved his little boy.”

 

Upcoming Events

Thu Nov 23 @12:00AM
Offices Closed - Thanksgiving
Fri Nov 24 @12:00AM
Offices Closed - Thanksgiving
Tue Dec 05 @ 6:00PM - 12:00AM
City Council Meeting
Tue Dec 12 @ 7:30AM -
Headland Chamber of Commerce
Tue Dec 19 @ 6:00PM - 12:00AM
City Council Meeting
Fri Dec 22 @12:00AM
Offices Closed - Christmas
Mon Dec 25 @12:00AM
Offices Closed - Christmas
Mon Dec 25 @12:00AM
Offices Closed - Christmas
Tue Jan 02 @ 6:00PM - 12:00AM
City Council Meeting
Tue Jan 09 @ 7:30AM -
Headland Chamber of Commerce

Pay Water Bills Online!

payclix biz enabled large